Congrats Timmy! Tebow is two-time SEC Athlete of the Year


From one Gator to the next, Congrats to University of Florida quarterback Tim Tebow who is the 2008-09 Roy F. Kramer Southeastern Conference Male Athlete of the Year!

This is his second time taking the title, he joins Alistair Craig (Arkansas, cross country/track), Danny Wuerffel (Florida, football) and Shaquille O’Neal (LSU, basketball) as the only students to win the award back-to-back.

Tebow and the Gators won two BCS National Championships (2007, 2009), he’s also been the AP Player of the Year (2007), a Heisman Trophy winner (2007), the SEC Male Athlete of the Year (2007), the SEC Offensive Player of the Year (2008) and the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year (2008) — and the 2009-10 school year will mark his senior year!

Tebow was born on August 14, 1987 in the Philippines to Bob and Pam Tebow, Christian missionaries at the time, he is a Family, Youth and Community Sciences major at the University of Florida, and in Alabama and Kentucky there are two bills passing through the Legislatures called the “Tim Tebow Bill” and the “Tebow Bill” which both will allow homeschool athletes to play for their local high school teams just as Tebow did in Florida.

Go Gators!

Copyright © 2009 Sasha H. Muradali. All Rights Reserved.